Student Lease Addendum
Below is the lease addendum that each University of Minnesota student tenant
signs. Please read it carefully and make sure that you maintain
You can get a printable copy here.
For University of Minnesota Student Renters
You have a duty and obligation to follow all city, state and federal laws
together with the policies of the University of Minnesota. If you fail to do
so you may be subject to certain penalties including criminal prosecution,
fines, jail, civil liability and school code sanctions. The following
briefly set forth some common offenses and penalties.
Most cities, including Minneapolis, regulate noise levels and social
gatherings that could be considered a nuisance. Minneapolis ordinances
prohibit a person from
conducting, participating in, visiting, permitting,
or remaining at
a noisy assembly. This is defined as a gathering of
than one person
in a residential area between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and
6:00 a.m. that would be likely to cause significant discomfort or annoyance
to a person of normal sensitivities. You may be in violation if you
entertain one friend or fifty; whether or not there is alcohol involved;
and whether or not you are the host. Violations may result in escalating
civil penalties atarting at $150.00 for residents/guests and $200.00 for
landlords, as well as criminal misdemeanor charges punishable by a fine up
to $1000.00 and /or 90 days in jail.
This is commonly defined as engaging in conduct that is likely to alarm,
anger, or disturb others, provoke and assault, or disturb the peace. It
includes fighting or engaging in offensive, obscene, or abusing language
or in boisterous and noisy conduct that may arouse alarm, anger, or
resentment in others.
Violation of this state statute is a misdemeanor,
punishable by a fine of up to $1000 and / or 90 days in jail.
This law is broadly interpreted; police will often charge individuals
who they believe are being “uncooperative.”
ALCOHOL – UNDER-AGE CONSUMPTION, PURCHASING, OR POSESSION
Anyone who violates the following provisions may be charged with a
misdemeanor and subject to a fine of up to $1000 and / or 90 days in jail.
Consumption: is unlawful for anyone under age 21 to consume
alcohol outside his/her parent’s or guardian’s home.
Fake ID: It is unlawful to give a fictitious name or fake ID to a
police officer who is acting within his/her duties. It is also unlawful to
present a fake ID to purchase alcohol.
Purchasing: is unlawful for a person under 21 to buy or attempt
to buy any alcoholic beverage.
Possession: It is unlawful for a person under 21 to possess an
alcoholic beverage with intent to consume it outside his/her parent’s or
Furnishing alcohol to persons under the age of 21: Anyone who
buys or furnishes alcohol for a person under age 21 is subject to
charges and a fine of up to $3000 and/or one year in jail.
DRINKING AND DRIVING OFFENSES
Driving while intoxicated:
: It is a misdemeanor ($1000 fine/90 days) to drive,
operate, or be in control of a motor vehicle while under the influence
of a controlled substance or with an alcohol concentration above .10%.
It is also a crime to refuse chemical testing if you are stopped
by police. Refusal results in loss of license for 1 year. Test
results over .10% results in loss of license for 90 days.
Zero tolerance: It is unlawful for anyone under age 21
to drive, operate, or be in control of a motor vehicle after consuming
any amount of alcoholic beverage. Violation will result in loss of driving
privileges for 30 days (2nd offense – 180 days) and will become a permanent
part of your driving record.
CRIMINAL LIABILITY: It is a crime for anyone over 21 to buy, sell,
furnish or provide alcohol to a person under 21.
CIVIL ACTION / SOCIAL HOST LIABILITY
A civil lawsuit may be brought against anyone who is 21 or older who
furnished, sold, have, or purchased alcohol for a person under 21 whose
consumption of alcohol resulted in injury or harm to an innocent third person.
University Conduct Code, the “Student Conduct Code” applies to illegal
conduct that occurs both on and off campus. If your conduct results in
criminal offense, or endangers the health or safety of others you are
subject to discipline under the code.